Assisted Suicide

California to Implement Assisted Suicide on June 9

California to Implement Assisted Suicide on June 9

On June 9, 2016, California's "End of Life Option Act," signed into law by Governor Jerry Brown last October, will go into effect. Under the law, patients who are at least 18 years old who have been diagnosed by a treating and a consulting physician with a terminal disease expected to result in death within 6 months may request aid-in-dying drugs. Verbal requests must be made 15 days apart and one must be signed, dated, and witnessed by two adults. A mental health assessment is not required unless the physician feels that there may be a mental disorder.

 
 

Assisted Suicide Legislation Would Leave Elderly, Disabled, and Depressed Vulnerable

Assisted Suicide Legislation Would Leave Elderly, Disabled, and Depressed Vulnerable

California's proposed assisted-suicide bill does not require psychiatric evaluations which would rule-out depression, fear or anxiety as a primary motive for requesting assisted suicide, and does not provide adequate checks and balances to ensure that the disabled and elderly are protected. It could also lead to an increase in non-therapeutic suicides as it becomes socially acceptable. It costs only $35-50 for life-ending "medication" as opposed to hundreds of thousands of dollars for terminal healthcare, thus the cost-saving incentive is significant.